Log in


High School Battle of the Books

Chair 2022-2023

Karen Meier, hbobchair@ncslma.org

In This Section

HBoB Members

*Please note that some website pages are for members only. For full access to the website and many other member benefits, click here

NCSLMA began sponsoring HSBOB in 2017-18.  District level competitions will be held each spring with regional competitions following them.  We are looking for volunteers to organize regional competitions.  If you are interested please email the HBOB chair at hbobchair@ncslma.org.


The School-Level BOB Compliance form must be completed and submitted by each school participating in any level of BOB competition each year.  The school media coordinator must join or renew NCSLMA membership BEFORE being allowed to fill out this form.  

The compliance form will appear as an event beginning Nov. 1.  You will need to "register for the event to answer the compliance questions.  Renewal and compliance forms are due by December 1.  You will not see the compliance form event if you are not a current member and logged in to your account. 

Questions? Contact your HBOB Regional Coordinator. 

We would like to have one coordinator and two representatives from each region, so please consider joining the committee.

For questions or to join the committee, contact HBOB Chair Karen Meier at hbobchair@ncslma.org

Helpful Links

Past Book List

  • District Question Request Form
  • Regional Question Request Form - Will become available when a final decision has been made regarding Regional competitions.

  • Committee Members

    Karen Meier, Chairperson

    Rachel McConoughey, Chair Elect

    Region 1:  Annie Burge, Perquimans; Melissa Haley-Driver, Pasquotank; Susan Sawin, Dare

    Region 2:  Sara Levin, Lenoir

    Region 3:  Kimberly Collette, Edgecombe; Becky Frisbie, Franklin; Kate Mester, Durham; Alice Mba, Durham; Laurie Thompson, Durham 

    Region 4:  Kristy Sartain, Cumberland

    Region 5:  Jessica Bair-Epps, Forsyth; Gina Cusato-O'Neal, Forsyth; Nancy Towler, Rockingham

    Region 6:  Amy Ebert

    Region 7:   Melony Adams, Wilkes

    Region 8:

    Region 9 (Independent Schools): 


    NCSLMA is a professional organization dedicated to supporting, promoting, and empowering school librarians across the state as they transform their school communities.


    Membership is $50 per year and comes with numerous benefits and professional development opportunities. 
    Join or learn more here. 


    Mailing address:
    151 NC Highway 9 Suite B #188
    Black Mountain, NC 28711

    Meet the Board


    We provide various ways to connect with librarians across the state. 
    Connect here or via social media.

    NCSLMA is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization (W9)

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software