Leadership Academy


Colleen Graham, colleengraham@ncslma.org

Program Information


The North Carolina  School Library Media Association (NCSLMA) is offering a special leadership development opportunity for school librarians to help them reach their professional potential. This program will kick-off in January and conclude with a pre-conference session at the 2020 NCSLMA annual conference. You will have an opportunity to meet and collaborate with a variety of school librarians across North Carolina, NCSLMA Board members, committee chairs and members, and join networks in your area of the state. You will learn more about being a leader in your school and district. You will also learn what NCSLMA is, what we do, and how you can be an active part of the organization.

Requirements for participants

Participate in regularly scheduled meetings

Choose a leadership activity following the program:

  • Serve on a NCSLMA committee as member or chair
  • Present at the 2020 conference
  • Other approved (Examples: design a webinar for NCSLMA, plan regional EdCamp, etc.)

In addition, it is expected that after going through the leadership academy as a participant you will

  1. mentor the next group
  2. participate in leading the program the group after that

Application Process

Applications are due October 31, 2019 at midnight. Those accepted into the program will be notified by December 10, 2019. 

Minimum Criteria

  • Currently serving in a school librarian position with a minimum of 3 years experience as a school librarian.
  • Have or be in process of obtaining Masters in Library Science that will lead to a 076 license.
  • Ability to attend the 2020 NCSLMA annual conference, including a pre-conference session.
  • Ability to work virtually in throughout the program. This will include participating in and leading sessions on a variety of topics. There will also be a book study throughout the year. 
  • Willingness to serve at district, region, or state level upon completion of the program.

2020 Leadership Academy Cohort

CONGRATULATIONS to our 2020 Leadership Academy Members!

Erin Bradley Vickie Blankenship Tamela Cordeiro Renee Cunningham

Colleen Graham Faith Huff Karen Maxon Stacy Morgan

Kristy Sartain Susan Sawin Karen VanVliet Lucy Wilcox

We're looking forward to an exciting year!

Jen Baker, jenbaker@ncslma.org

2017-18 Emerging Leaders Cohort



  • Laura Aldridge, Media Specialist, Terrell Lane Middle School
  • Chelsea Brantley, Media Coordinator, Nags Head Elementary
  • Anitra Cook, Media Coordinator, H. B Sugg & Sam D. Bundy Elementary Schools
  • Christen Higgins, Media Coordinator, Matthews Elementary School
  • Anissa Holm, School Library Media Coordinator, West Johnston High School
  • Vanessa Lail, Media Coordinator, Grandview Middle School
  • Heather Pennica, Lead Media Specialist, Johnston County Schools
  • Lee Ann Perry, Media Coordinator, Lyle Creek Elementary School
  • Mary Sauls, Media Coordinator, Bertie High/STEM High School
  • Delandrus Seales, Media Coordinator, Codington Elementary
  • Jen Baker, Coastal Director 
  • Bitsy Griffin, President Elect
  • Crystal Joyce. Advocacy/Governance Section Chair
  • Allison Long, Secretary
  • Laura Long, Piedmont West Director
  • Lisa Milstead, Bylaws Chair
  • Robin Rhodes, Mountains Director
  • Ruth Wilcox, NC Young Adult Book Award Chair

Preferred Vendors 2020-2021



2013-14 Emerging Leader Cohort

  • Jennifer Abel
  • Sedley Abercrombie
  • Jen Baker
  • Keith Beisner
  • Kimberly Collette
  • Bitsy Griffin
  • Emily Kerley
  • TaKwanda Lawrence
  • Vicky Mahoney
  • Daniel Martin
  • Jill Mueller
  • Lauren Schultz
  • Margaret Sullivan
  • Christine Tuttell


©NC School Library Media Association | 151 NC Hwy 9 Ste B #188, Black Mountain, NC 28711 | info@ncslma.org

NCSLMA is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization (W9)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software