NC School Library Media Association

Support   Promote   Empower

State & National Standards

Lisa Newburger,


The State Board of Education (SBE) and the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) are committed to providing personalized digital-age education that K-12 students need to be successful in college, careers, and as globally engaged productive citizens. Revising the NC Information and Technology Essential Standards (ITES) for students is an important part of this work. These standards are critical building blocks for the education of our students. ITES represent the "must have" information and technology skills and knowledge that each student must have in order to achieve success at the next level. The standards are designed to be delivered by classroom teachers in all curricular areas and grade levels.

As part of the NC Standards Review, Revision and Implementation process, the NC Department of Public Instruction is seeking your input on adopting the International Society for Technology in Education - Student Standards (ISTE-S). We recommend spending some time reviewing the ISTE-S prior to completing the survey. We anticipate the survey to take approximately 5 minutes. The survey may be accessed via:

Please share this with staff in your district. Thank you in advance for taking the time to contribute to this process.

AASL Standards

Released in November of 2017, the new AASL National School Library Standards are based on the following common beliefs:
  1. The school library is a unique and essential part of a learning community.
  2. Qualified school librarians lead effective school libraries.
  3. Learners should be prepared for college, career, and life.
  4. Reading is the core of personal and academic competency.
  5. Intellectual freedom is every learner’s right.
  6. Information technologies must be appropriately integrated and equitably available.

There are three integrated frameworks including standards for learners, librarians, and school libraries. The three frameworks are anchored by six Shared Foundations and Four Domains:

 Shared Foundations  Domains
  • Inquire
  • Include
  • Collaborate
  • Curate
  • Explore
  • Engage
  • Think (cognitive)
  • Create (psychomotor)
  • Share (affective)
  • Grow (developmental)

¬©NC School Library Media Association | NCSLMA is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization (W9) |151 NC Hwy 9 Ste B #188, Black Mountain, NC 28711 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software